Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own

That’s a song title, but it’s also very apt in describing life.

Sometimes we just cannot make it on our own, and we have to seek out other people to help us with things, be it something to do with our finances, or even just some work, we often rely on other people.

So then, I put it to you that you are perfectly entitled to ask for help with whatever it is you are going through. Depression, Anxiety, Bullying you name it, there’s help out there and you ARE ENTITLED TO IT.

A little anecdote for you, which I hasten to add is true.

I’ve been struggling with my mood for a while now and there are many reasons for it which I won’t bore you with, but thanks to talking to my friend I can manage it. I stress about University as I have to write 5 essays this semester and they’re all fairly difficult. I stress about my social life, or lack of and I stress about transport (I know right).

All in all, I get uptight about a lot of things that affect me even more so when I’m feeling low and alone anyway. I went into uni today and attended my seminar on Capitalism Connected. I tend to miss a seminar for this every other week as I haven’t been finding it at all useful and have been desperate for more sleep (despite going to bed at a reasonable hour) which is obviously not particularly good because I’ve paid £3000 a year to be at university and I want to make the most of that opportunity. Quite often I battle with my body when I awake to my alarm as to whether or not I will go in, face the hassle of an hour train journey which is inevitably delayed, consequently meaning I miss a connection and have to wait for 20 minutes for the next train and therefore making me anxious and irritable before the day has properly begun.

I was on my way home and something triggered my self-hatred, then I was listening to my music which is very much based around my moods and how lyricists capture what I feel so beautifully.

The truth is, when I was on my way home I sent a text “Ich hasse mich selbst” to my friend as I know a little bit of German, and she is good at German as well. I wanted to get out how I felt and let someone know. The trouble is that I do honestly feel bad sometimes for talking about how I feel. We’re human just as you reading this are, and just because we keep tweeting positivity and letting you know it’s ok to talk, it doesn’t mean that at some points we don’t doubt ourselves.

Life is difficult and I’m by no means having the best of it right now, but I take strength from my friends who have been so wonderfully supportive of me, even those who I’ve not talked to for a while.

Further to my anecdote, I was bullied at school pretty badly. I was one of those guys who didn’t really know what fashion was with regards to how to wear your school tie at a ridiculously short length, or not to wear a blazer etc. I was one of those guys who didn’t want to get into trouble and would just put my head down and do my work. Unfortunately this led to bullying from people who called me various names. In addition, even my friends began to insult me and bully me, and it lasted until year 10 when I finally became perhaps begrudgingly accepted by the majority of people.

I found that the best way to deal with it was to talk about it, who to, well that’s a more difficult and subjective area. I’m not going to suggest anything because it’s all down to circumstance. However, don’t be afraid to stand up to your bullies and let them know that is what they are, don’t be afraid to use words in an imaginative way (I don’t mean swearing) and don’t be afraid to speak out against them.

My point here, is to say that sometimes we all need a bit of TLC, and we all need to share our feelings with people at times. Don’t be afraid to so, and don’t be afraid to think that you don’t want to talk about your feelings because your friends/others will not want to hear it. The truth is that most people will be ok with you talking about how you feel so please if you are in a bad place, let someone know.

Another point is to say that we are both at university, despite our mental health problems so don’t let anything hold you back, don’t let depression/anxiety/bullying stop you from succeeding, let it drive and spur you on to be the best you can be.

Today is not just a leap day, it is also 1 in 4 day. A day to acknowledge that 1 in 4 Britons will at some point in their lives suffer from mental illness. Let us not judge them, let us help support and reassure them instead.

Sometimes keeping your mind occupied on something progressive can really boost your mood. Love and compassion are crucial to our moods. Love your friends and let them know it, they may be more understanding of your feelings. Don’t let anything hold you back, don’t let others dictate your life, take control and seize the moment.

It’s ok to talk.

About itsoktotalk

22-year-old who has suffered from and is well on the way to overcoming mental health issues. I'm just like anyone else, and want to support people to let them know it is OK to talk about their feelings. Don't be afraid to speak out. It's ok to talk.

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

