It’s Ok To Talk

A reminder.

It’s ok to talk… about how you feel, about what you’re afraid of, but also about your hopes & the things you are feeling positive about. Talking about our feelings can frequently seem to end up in a way that we interpret as “moaning” but our friend(s) who listen reassure us is merely explaining how we feel. Remember that it is how you react to your feelings & what you do about it that matters. At least, that is what I believe. 

The reason I write this tonight is because of my anxiety & general stress. Even on a day recently where you would have expected anxiety to be at a minimum it was controlling me & affecting me, which showed me just how much I have had on my mind of late. I don’t always talk about it because I am aware of how it can make other people feel, & because I just find it difficult to do so sometimes for fear of the reaction, especially based on how I have worded what I want to say. The positive aspect though, is that this afternoon & this evening I have been far more positive about things than I have since this anxiety began to take control of me again. Something someone said to me made me want to write this blog post though, because it really made my day & it reminded me that I have a job to do. That job is to remind you all that it is ok to talk, just as my friend has kept reminding me of late. It’s so important that we address our feelings from time to time, because they can transgress beyond a point where we have the capability to cope well, which in turn makes things escalate further. The vicious circle is difficult to remove yourself from, but with determination & a will to talk, it is possible. 

Talking can take many forms, it doesn’t have to be a totally candid discussion with a friend at all. You can express your feelings &/or thoughts in many forms, & you can share as little or as much as you feel comfortable with. What is critical though, is that you don’t feel pressured into doing talking. It may seem as though I’m encouraging you to talk out, & I kind of am, but equally it is about doing what is right, & being comfortable. It’s about letting you know that if there is a point that you need or want to talk, then it’s ok to do that. 

When you work together with someone, you can achieve so much. Sharing things can assist you greatly in overcoming the things that you most fear, that hold you back from being who you want to be. 

Gradually things begin to slot back into place. Sure, there’s going to be days where it is tough, where you feel so drained from all that goes on in your mind, but when you can see the pieces of the puzzle fitting together to create the bigger picture, that is when things look up, & that is when you need to grab it with both hands & take even more control of everything. I speak from personal experience, which is why this is different to having a professional write an article about depression/mental health issues. I’m not saying it will be the same for everyone, or that you can just think about things & control everything just like that. Merely, I’m trying to show what can be achieved when you find yourself in a good place emotionally, & to show that a lot can be achieved by self discovery & determination.

Nothing needs to be insurmountable.

I recently managed to get a company to design 200 wristbands saying “Mental illness – itsoktotalk” & “#TalkOut” on them, all profits from the sale of these will go to MHRUK Charity http://www.mhruk.org They are £2.50 each & can be purchased here http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120991089672&ssPageName=ADME:L:EOISSA:GB:1123#ht_500wt_1156

The idea is to remind people that it is ok to talk, & to try & reduce the stigma around mental health, mental health issues & mental illness. Get people talking about it, because the more we talk about it, the more people realise how common it is, & hopefully the more people get help by talking to a professional, or at least a friend to begin with.

Positivity. Optimism. Let these two things guide you as best they can. 

Remember: It’s ok to talk.

About itsoktotalk

Just a 20 year old guy who has suffered from and is well on the way to overcoming mental health issues. I'm just like anyone else, and want to support people to let them know it is ok to talk about their feelings. Don't be afraid to speak out. It's ok to talk.

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey man, I just found your blog.

    I am overcoming mental health issues as well and would like to exchange blogroll links.

    Interested? I’ll just go ahead and add your site to my blogroll. :)

    It’d be great if you’d want to add mine, you can my site (I Fkkn Rokk) at http://www.ifkknrokk.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,353 other followers

